Press Release from the Office of Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson

President Elect of the Texas Society of Anesthesiologists, Dr. Tillmann Hein, M.D. and Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson.

Washington, DC – (Wednesday, May 04, 2011) Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson received the “2011 Excellence in Government Award” from the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) at the group’s annual legislative meeting in Washington, DC on Tuesday, May 3, 2011.

Dr. Tillmann Hein, representing Texas, presented the award to Congresswoman Johnson in honor of her legislative efforts regarding anesthesia payment disparities.

“I am honored to receive this award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists and I look forward to continuing my work with them to raise and maintain the standards of the medical practice of anesthesiology and improve the care of the patient. There is no other person as important as an anesthesiologist in an operating room,” said Congresswoman Johnson. “I know that doctors are important, but anesthesiologists are solely responsible for preparing patients for surgery, monitoring them while in surgery and caring for their recovery.”

To see more photographs from the event click here:


U.S. Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson is Ranking Member of the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology. She is also the highest-ranking Texan on the House Committee on Transportation & Infrastructure. She represents the 30th Congressional District of Texas that includes Downtown Dallas, Fair Park, Oak Lawn, Turtle Creek,Old East Dallas, Pleasant Grove, & South Oak Cliff; all of Balch Springs, DeSoto, Hutchins, Lancaster & Wilmer and parts of Cedar Hill, Duncanville, Ferris, Glenn Heights and Ovilla.